OR   Search for Artist/Title    Advanced Search
you are not logged in...  [login] 
Back    List All News  
Listen: 'Surrender' by The Gulps
01 April 2023

List All News - Back
The Gulps are back with the breathless new single “Surrender”.

A song about first loves and the fragility of youth, and the vital part they play in the narrative of life, the latest from The Gulps stands as one of their most poetic, poignant, and punchy cuts yet.

Produced by Tim Wheeler of Ash and thriving with the energy of anything he’s put his name on, “Surrender” writhes with the urgency and unpredictability of an electric livewire and jolts with the kind of passion that can only be wrought from pure heartbreak.

Amidst the chaos of its feedback-fried guitars and heart-stopping rhythmic clatter, its vo-coded vocals mask an all-or-nothing tale of romance and regrets, sung bilingually in English and French.

Speaking about this personal new track, frontman Javier Sola expresses:

“A moment of uncertainty and internal rebellion in which resistance to the present moment, to the now, no longer makes sense. The only thing left is to join eternity, an infinite youth that knows no quantifiable age. Like the Steppenwolf we live in an internal battle in which we neither win nor lose, we only suffer until the moment we accept it and let the current carry us gently into the portal of not perishing. In the midst of the storm the surrender to the present without resistance leads to eternal youth, a youth that disregards quantifiable age in material form but rather the spirit that never perishes, eternity. We are made of light and darkness, of mud and diamonds, of laughter and tears. Accept them, surrender without resistance and fly free.”

Recorded at Livingston Studios in London with Tim Wheeler at the control desk, the track was engineered by Graeme Young and mixed by Charlie Russell, and polished by Nick Watson at Fluid Mastering.

List All News - Back

“Surrender” quickly follows their Chris Hawkins (BBC 6 Music) premiered single “Mirror Mirror”, plus 2022 hit “Candy”, with The Gulps already earning regular key support from the likes of BBC Radio 6 and Radio X at radio, and high praise from tastemakers such as NME, Clash and Louder Than War. Released via the band’s own Guindilla records, the quintet also recently signed a publishing deal with Mike Smith and Downtown Music.
Hailing from all corners of Europe and the Middle East, The Gulps are: frontman Javier Sola (Vox) and guitarist Juan Carlos Ruiz (both from a small town in La Rioja, Spain), bassist Simon Mouchard (from Nantes, France), rhythm guitarist Francesco Antonio Buffone (from Calabria in southern Italy) and drummer Raoul Khayat (from Beirut, Lebanon).

Currently based in Camden, The Gulps’ notorious live shows led to them becoming the last signing of the legendary Steve Strange to X Ray Touring, before his death. They are also currently managed by Creation Records legend Alan McGee (Oasis / Primal Scream).

Listen here:

  author: CHRISTOPHER NOSNIBOR 01 April 2023